BookReview A Life Of Joy by Amy Clipston

BookReview A Life Of Joy by Amy Clipston
For the past four years, Lindsay Bedford has lived with her Amish aunt, Rebecca Kauffman, and her family. She and her sister, Jessica, moved to Bird-In-Hand, Pennsylvania after their parents died in a car accident. Lindsay is eighteen years old, an age where she can take classes so she can be
baptized into the Amish faith. While her Amish friends are sure that they are ready to make the lifetime commitment, she's not. It doesn't help that Jessica, who no longer lives with the Kauffmans, seems to always be pushing her to do something more with her life. Lindsay has also started to notice how cute Matthew Glick is, but they can't date until she is baptized.

Lindsay really struggles with the decision of whether she should stay English or became Amish. She loves her life in Bird-In-Hand. She works at the Kaufman family bakery. She also helps Rebecca take care of her two younger children. Lindsay prays for God's guidance and gets an answer.

Her parent's best friends Frank and Trisha McCabe live in Virginia. When Trisha breaks her leg, they ask Lindsay to stay with them for several weeks to help out. Lindsay experiences living like the English again. She goes out with old friends and uses all the modern conveniences, like laptop computers. Lindsay soon realizes where she belongs. Is it in Bird-In-Hand, where she has spent the last four years of her life? Or is it back in the English world where she was born? Read A Life Of Joy to find out.

This story focuses mainly on Lindsay's decision but there are smaller stories going on. Rebecca is having health issues, Jessica is living the life she always wanted, and Matthew and Lindsay develop a friendship. I really enjoyed this book. Lindsay wanted to do what God wants for her life, she's just not sure what that is. Her friends and family are very supportive of her not getting baptized with the rest of her friends. The McCabes aren't pushing her to stay English, the Kaufman's aren't pushing her to become Amish. She has to figure out on her own what to do. This book shows us to trust God for His guidance in our lives.

This is book 4 in the Kauffman Amish Bakery Series. I didn't read the first three books and think this could be a stand alone book. I wasn't lost or confused about the characters as I read through the book.

I received this free e-book from NetGalley for honest review.

You Might Also Like


  1. I am about to read this! I am so excited!!

  2. You're going to like it!

  3. Thanks for the wonderful review!

  4. is this the first of a series or are there others. Just got it in the mail yesterday and we are moving so my books are packed and not sure weather to read it or leave it till I read the others. I read so many different ones I caint remember. lol

  5. Kauffman Amish Bakery Series

    #1 A Gift of Grace
    #2 A Promise of Hope
    #3 A Place of Peace
    #4 A Life of Joy
    #5 A Season of Love out June 19, 2012

    I only read A Life Of Joy. I think you could very easily read it without having read the first 3 books in the series. I also read Naomi's Gift, it has characters from this series in it. Good books :) Happy moving!