BOOK REVIEW Sisters of the Quilt: The Complete Trilogy by Cindy Woodsmall

From the Author

When the Heart Cries
Her life among her Amish community brutally interrupted, seventeen-year-old Hannah Lapp faces questions neither family, nor fiancĂ©, nor even faith can easily answer. The first book in the Sisters of the Quilt series, When the Heart Cries will ignite a broader understanding of others’ beliefs and a God-given strength to deal with pain we all experience.

When the Morning Comes
Rejected by those she loves, Hannah Lapp leaves her Amish community and seeks refuge in the world outside, leaving her family and friends to wrestle with the painful truths that emerge in the wake of her disappearance. As she struggles to find her place in the confusing Englischer world, her community deals with the turbulent aftermath of her departure.

When the Soul Mends
Hoping to help her sister, Hannah Lapp reluctantly returns to the Old Order Amish community she fled in disgrace more than two years earlier. When hidden truths are revealed about her former fiancé, she must choose whether to return to the Plain life or to the Englischer man who adores her in this captivating conclusion to the Sisters of the Quilt series.

My Review

Amish Hannah Lapp was secretly engaged to Mennonite Paul Waddell. Hannah met him while she was working at his grandmother's house, cleaning for her. Hannah was attacked walking home one day and faced serious consequences. Her Amish community shunned her when they discovered what happened. Hannah decided to leave Owl's Perch, PA telling no one where she was going. Hannah ended up in Ohio. She started dressing like an Englisher. She got her drivers license and even went to nursing school. She worked at a birthing clinic while going to school. She also fell in love with Martin Palmer, and his niece and nephew that he was caring for. Hannah needed to go back to Owl's Perch to help care for her younger sister Sarah, who was having mental problems. Hannah and Paul worked together to help Sarah. She also had to confront her father about how he treated her before she left. After going to Owls Perch and returning to Ohio, Hannah realized where she truly belonged. Is it with Martin and the kids or is it back in her Amish community? Read this trilogy to find out what choice Hannah makes.

 This series is about never giving up on your dreams. Hannah wanted to go to nursing school and she pursued that dream, even with all the obstacles that where in her way. This series is about finding hope when there seems to be none. With all that Hannah endured, she found hope to move on with her life. This series is about God healing hearts. God used Hannah to help heal Martin and his niece and nephews hearts. God healed Hannah from all the pain she experienced since the attack.

This is a terrific series of books. I really like that it is all in one book. Cindy Woodsmall's characters are real. When you read her stories, you get to know the characters. These three stories are about healing the hurt that is in one's heart caused by strangers, family, and even one's community. Hannah went from being brokenhearted in When The Heart Cries, to being able to see the light of day after the darkness of her attack in When The Morning Comes and finally finding healing in When The Soul Mends. Pick up this trilogy and join Hannah on her journey to healing.

Check out the first chapter of When The Heart Cries  here.

Below is a video of Cindy Woodsmall discussing she how became interested in the Amish and writing.

I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah for my honest review.

You Might Also Like